Photojournalism Woes

For so long now I have been interested in photojournalism and ideally being a photojournalist would be my dream job. Many people say I am quite motivated when it comes to my Uni work but it’s going to take more than that for me to achieve this dream.

I recently found out that in my third year of Uni I will get to do a photojournalism module and this put a huge smile on my face. The problem is though, that I find it hard to know where to start when it comes to getting somewhere in this field of work. It’s one thing Googling ways to get my foot in the door, but my confidence and experience is below par.

There are plenty of photographs I have collected over the years and it is about time I started to compile a proper portfolio. Part of me wishes I had just taken a photography degree, but I guess that feeling comes and goes. So many people do so much more than me when it comes to working hard to get into the career they dream of but I just feel lazy and rubbish!

Tonight I realised that I really need to change things, so if anyone out there has any advice for me, such as how to promote my work and where to look for the photo ops that I need, I would love to hear from you. I will continue with this blog properly once my motivation returns. I have been bogged down big time with work and personal problems, so I have found it hard to get myself going again in the new year.

I hope everyone had a great new year and here’s hoping none of you have burnt out to the same extent as I have. Here is an old picture from the depths of my computer to keep you going. Interestingly it had nothing to do with photojournalism…

Leave a Reply

