Taking Charlie

DSC_1467

For the past few weeks I have been working on and off with Goofus, a theatre company based at The Lowry in Salford, as their photographer. Their play ‘Taking Charlie’ was based on a true story surrounding two Eastern European men’s elaborate plot to kidnap and ransom the body of Charlie Chaplin.

I followed their rehearsal process all the way up until their two final performances, which took place last Wednesday.

Before I was chosen to get involved with their project I had never really taken an interest in theatre, let alone local theatre companies. After forming friendships with everyone involved and being adopted as part of the Goofus family I can safely say that my mind has been changed!

Those of you who follow my blog will be aware of my burning ambition to work as a photographer. Unfortunately for me, so far I have had little experience of working as one and I am still learning as I go along.

I was extremely flattered and quite surprised to receive a direct message from Goofus Theatre on Twitter asking me if I would like to get involved. This was the first time in my life that Twitter had actually come through for me in terms of my career besides sourcing interviews for my journalism degree.

A few months previously I had met and photographed my favourite street artist Sneak (I know, I know, I never shut up about him!) and he had since used my photography on his own Twitter page.

One member of Goofus Theatre saw my photograph on Sneak’s profile and mentioned it to him. As a result my name was passed on to Goofus, and the rest is history. Sneak himself drew the artwork for the Taking Charlie poster.

With the right funding, Taking Charlie could be taken on tour and Goofus Theatre can continue producing fantastic performances. As a result I may be able to get even more work with the group and continue building up a portfolio of more professional, purposeful images.

Thanks to this opportunity I am now even more determined than ever to carry on with my journey to become a photographer. Hopefully, taking a photojournalism module at university next year will be the final push to get myself out there.

DSC_0158

Leave a Reply

