Some London Street Art

Taking pictures for a living which don’t reflect my personal interests in photography has really killed my passion. I still love street art and I still love photography, recently though, I just haven’t had the desire or energy to continue with my combined hobby.

I went to London for the second time ever a couple of days ago on a trip to see my boyfriend. I still don’t like London, I still prefer The North and I didn’t get any amazing pictures. All this aside, it was an interesting and tiring experience. The photographs I did get, I thought I would share. I haven’t posted on here for a while (which is becoming a bit of a habit) but once I get back into a routine I should be able to rectify this.

The image above is of a giant wall mural painted on – believe it or not – the Queen Elizabeth Hall and Purcell Room on the South Bank… I think. I have a number of street art books in my possession, meaning I recognised the art right away. The artist is Phlegm. There’s nothing better than being able to see someone’s work in real life.

DSC_1313

Yards away from the mural by Phlegm, was this piece on the left by ROA. Although not one of my favourite styles, you can’t knock this for quality. It’s scale and detail are impressive as hell. I only wish I could have captured it from a better angle.

On the right is a stencil I found in Camden Market. After some Googling I discovered that there is some question as to whether or not this might be a Banksy. I doubt it however, as there is no tag accompanying it. Either way, I don’t find it particularly impressive, but it’s fun to have spotted. (For future reference, you are reading the blog of someone who finds Banksy’s work clichéd and boring).

DSC_1304

So that’s that for now! In the recent future I am planning a day trip to Liverpool purely for the purpose of street art photography. Admittedly, London is better for this kind of thing, but I don’t think I can face going back there again for a while!

Leave a Reply

