Dublin Zoo Days

DSC_3769

Last month I turned twenty one. I spent my birthday in Dublin. It was the best birthday I could have hoped for, not least because it meant I got to travel to a place I had never been before. In the past few months I have come to realise that my life is nothing without adventure.

It may have taken twelve hours to get there on a coach and I may have been a little seasick on the crossing from Holyhead to Dublin… but it was all totally worth it.

Dublin itself was just like any other capital city, to be honest. It was massive, full of tourists and a bit stressful in terms of navigation. That said, the locals were some of the friendliest people I have ever met and the whole place just has such a great atmosphere.

DSC_3565I spent the night before my birthday in a pub on Temple Bar – tourist central. I befriended a middle-aged, drunk, Irish couple and a prostitute. I drank a lot of everything that WASN’T GUINNESS(!?!) and I had the time of my life.

A nice young man who once, apparently, appeared on the X Factor, sang me a U2 songs but got my name wrong and I got a ride home in a rickshaw at about half one in the morning. Success.

I spent the majority of my actual birthday walking around Dublin Zoo with my equally rough-feeling mother after the night before. We had a great time, I saw some amazing animals and I spent far too much money on a plush lizard.

I even managed to meet someone on my travels who has quickly become quite important to me and whom I care about a lot. This alone has brought me to the conclusion that if I don’t travel to places I wanna go, do all the things I wanna do and generally try hard in life I will miss out on a lot of amazing stuff.

I hope you have all been well in my absence (for which I am feeling extremely guilty). Since I last posted here, I have managed to secure a couple of paid PR and social media marketing jobs. I am in the middle of trying to get a final journalism project rolling and I have far too much to be getting on with.

This blog alone is the product of me having so much to do that I can no longer actually think of something to do.

Please accept my apologies for being a terrible blogger and enjoy these below-par photographs from my time in Dublin.

Leave a Reply

